Vital Records Marriage/Divorce Application

’d h A photocopy of a current government, school or employer photo identification of the applicant must be
ec submitted with all requests. Applications without proper identification will be returned unprocessed.

Name of applicant: Day phone number:

Address:

City: State: Zip code:

E-mail address:
Note: Mail from Vital Records will not be forwarded by the USPS.

Address certificate to be mailed to if different than applicant’s address:

Name:

Address:

City: State: Zip code:

Your relationship to person(s) named on the certificate. (Check one - will be used to determine entitlement)
Self Adult child Present or former spouse Legal representative (for whom?)
By signing this application, | understand that making a false application for a vital record is a felony under state law.

Signature of applicant:

MARRIAGE
Name of bride/spouse:
First Middle Last Suffix
Last name on birth certificate (if different): Other married surnames used:
Name of groom/spouse:
First Middle Last Suffix
Last name on birth certificate (if different): Other married surnames used:
Date of marriage: County where marriage license obtained: South Carolina
DIVORCE/ANNULMENT

Name of plaintiff:

First Middle Last Suffix
Other married surnames used:
Name of defendant:

First Middle Last Suffix

Other married surnames used:
Date of divorce or annulment; County where divorce obtained: South Carolina

FEES

SEARCH FEE: A $12 "search fee" is required by SC Law Section 44-63-110. The $12 search fee is non-refundable. The required search fee
includes one (1) certification if record is located. Additional copies purchased at the same time are $3 each. All request types with an expected
processing time of ten (10) business days or less, including onsite customer service, will be charged an additional $5 expedite fee. Acceptable
methods of payment for mail requests are a money order or cashier’s check made payable to SC DHEC. Onsite customer service also accepts
credit and debit cards and cash.

Marriage Required Search Fee (Non-refundable, Includes one copy if found.).............ooiiie e $12.00 $12.00
[CJLong Form OR [C]Statement of marriage (names, date, and county only)

Each additional copy... ceee x $3.00

Marriage Expedite Fee (Not appllcable to mailin requests ‘See back for details. ) ..................................... (Number of addional copes) ......$5.00 $5.00

Divorce Required Search Fee (Non-refundable, Includes one copy if fouNd.)............oovririnnneinseeseeeeeee e $12.00 $12.00
[JLong Form OR |:|Statement of divorce (names, date, and county only)

Each additional copy... x $3.00

Divorce Expedite Fee (Not appllcable to ma|l -in requests See back for detalls ) ....................................... (Number of addonalcopies) . $5.00 $5.00

Total fees submitted:

Send completed application, payment, and photocopy of proper ID to: SC DHEC - Vital Records, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201
OFFICE USE ONLY SFN: DCN:

DHEC 0639 (09/2023) SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

See back for Additional Information




SC DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Vital Statistics
Vital Records Marriage/Divorce Application — DHEC 0639 (09/2023)

PURPOSE: To collect information required to request a certified copy of a marriage and/or divorce record(s).
AUDIENCE: An individual requesting a certified copy of a marriage and/or divorce record(s).

INSTRUCTIONS: Instructions for completing each item are self-explanatory or embedded within the form. One form may be used to request a certified copy of
a marriage license only, or a report of divorce/annulment only, or for both a marriage license and report of divorce if for the same couple. Applicants are
instructed to complete each blank.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

MARRIAGES/DIVORCES - The central filing of marriages was not required until July 01, 1950. Marriages prior to that date must be obtained from the Office
of the Probate Judge in the county where the license was obtained. Reports of divorce are available from July 01, 1962 forward. SC DHEC does not have a
copy of the divorce decree. The actual divorce decree must be obtained from the Office of the Clerk of Court in the county where the final divorce hearing was
held.

TURNAROUND TIME - The usual turnaround time for ‘waiting’ onsite customers is approximately thirty (30) minutes during non-peak hours (8:30AM -
11:00AM). The usual turnaround time for ‘mail’ requests is approximately four (4) weeks from the date received by our office.

If it has been more than four (4) weeks since you submitted your request, please email VRRequestStatus@dhec.sc.gov or call (803) 898-3630 to determine
the status.

IDENTIFICATION - A valid/current government, school, or employer issued photo identification document of the applicant is required before a search of the
records will be conducted. Requests that do not contain proper identification will be returned unprocessed. Acceptable documents are:

Any United States’ DMV Office issued picture identification, i.e., Driver’s License, ID card, Learner's Permit (unexpired)
Current school or employer picture identification card (if expiration date is not listed, additional verification may be required from issuer)
Military card (unexpired — active duty or retired member)

United States Passport (unexpired)

Foreign Passport (unexpired)

Re-Entry Permit (I-327 - unexpired)

Refuge Travel Document (form [-571 — unexpired)

United States Citizen Identification Card (form |-197)

. Temporary Resident Card (form 1-688 — unexpired)

0. Permanent Resident Card (form |-551 — unexpired)

1. Weapon or gun permit issued by federal, state, or municipal government (unexpired)

39N

WEBSITE - Additional information can be obtained from the website: www.scdhec.gov/vital-records

PAYMENT - Acceptable methods of payment for mail requests are a money order or cashier’s check made payable to SC DHEC. Onsite customer service
also accepts credit/debit cards and cash.

SEARCH FEE - A $12 “search fee” is required by SC Law, Section 44-63-110. The $12 search fee is non-refundable. The required search fee includes one
(1) certification if record is located. If additional copies of the same type of certification are order at the same time, they are $3 each.

EXPEDITE FEE - A $5 expedite fee is allowed under SC Code of Regulations 61-19, Section 1300. SC DHEC Vital Records defines application of the
expedite fee to be charged for all request types with an expected turnaround time of ten (10) business days or less, including onsite in-person, onsite drop-off
(if desired), onlinefinternet, and billable orders. Orders sent via mail will not be processed expedited and will have an expected turnaround time of four (4)
weeks.

OFFICE MECHANICS AND FILING: Completed applications will be maintained for three years then destroyed under retention schedule 17996.
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