
Changes for the 2025 – 2026 School Year: 

7th – 12th grade: one (1) dose of Tdap vaccine on or after the 10th birthday. 

11th grade: two (2) doses of varicella. A child with a positive history of the disease is considered 

immune and is exempt from this requirement. 

5th grade: two (2) doses of hepatitis A vaccine with both doses received on or after the first birthday 

and separated by at least 6 months. 

 

 

March 12, 2025 
 

To Whom It May Concern: 

Each year the South Carolina Department of Public Health (DPH) provides the South Carolina 
Immunization Requirements for Childcare and School. This communication provides the school 
and childcare entry requirements for immunizations for the 2025-2026 school year. Included are 
general guidance and specific requirements for childcare and school attendance. 

Childcare and school immunization requirements are minimum requirements. Several other vaccines 
are recommended to protect all children against diseases. Although they may not be required for 
childcare or school entry, DPH recommends all age-appropriate vaccines for children. 

 

 
The current Immunization Certificate is DPH form 4024. Children with valid DPH 2740 certificates 
do not need an updated DPH 4024 certificate if the DPH-2740 was (1) issued on or before June 
30, 2022, and (2) no further immunizations are needed through 12th grade. 

 
Doses documented on the SC Certificate of Immunization must be valid according to accepted 
practice standards. DPH supports the provision of all recommended vaccines in accordance with the 
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), and CDC General Best Practice Guidelines 
for Immunization. 

We appreciate your continuing efforts to protect South Carolina children from 
vaccine- preventable diseases. Any questions may be directed to DPH’s Immunization 
Operations Section at 800-277-4687 or immunize@dph.sc.gov. 

 
Sincerely, 

 

Sherell Stevens, MBA, MPA 
Director 
Immunizations Operations Section 

mailto:immunize@dph.sc.gov
mailto:immunize@dph.sc.gov


General Guidance for South Carolina Immunization Requirements 
A valid South Carolina Certificate of Immunization for all enrolled children, 3 months of age and 
older, must be maintained by public and private childcare facilities (as defined in SC Code of 
Laws Section 63-13-20); public, private, and parochial schools, grades kindergarten through 
12th grade; and child development programs under the control of the Department of Education. 

South Carolina state law requires a valid SC Certificate of Immunization or valid exemption. 
Children without a valid certificate or exemption will not be allowed to attend childcare and/or 
school. Failure to comply with this law may result in audits and/or legal action. 

Doses documented on the immunization certificate must be valid doses according to accepted 
practice standards for the minimum age(s) and intervals, as well as all ACIP vaccine 
specific recommendations and CDC General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization. 

For unvaccinated or incompletely vaccinated children, refer to the currently published ACIP 
Catch-Up Schedule for the number of doses necessary to complete the vaccine series and 
meet the requirement. 

Exemptions 
Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, and South Carolina Regulation 
61-8, students may be exempt from these immunization requirements for the following reasons: 

Medical Exemption: The Medical Exemption section of the SC Certificate of Immunization 
should only be completed when a child has a permanent or temporary medical reason for 
exclusion from receipt of vaccine(s). The Medical Exemption section must be completed by a 
licensed Physician (MD or DO) or their authorized representative (e.g. Physician’s Assistant or 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse). For temporary medical exemptions, an expiration date in 
the future should be documented when next immunizations are due. 

Religious Exemption: A religious exemption may be granted to any student whose parent, 
guardian, or person in loco parentis signs the appropriate section of the South Carolina 
Certificate of Religious Exemption stating that one or more immunizations conflicts with their 
religious beliefs. The South Carolina Certificate of Religious Exemption can only be obtained 
from a DPH health department. The parent or guardian must sign the exemption form in the 
presence of a notary. This exemption may require renewal. 

 
Special Exemption: A SC Certificate of Special Exemption may be issued by the school to a 
student that has been unable to secure immunizations or documentation of immunizations 
already received. This exemption is only valid for 30 calendar days for the current enrollment 
and may be issued only once. 

Military Forms: DD-2766 or P-0630 with DPH-4375 

A Military Certification of South Carolina School and Childcare Requirements form 
(DPH-4375) completed and signed by a military provider and stapled to the military form 
DD-2766 or P-0630 can be accepted in lieu of the DPH-4024. This is only applicable to 
children of military personnel. The DPH-4375 can only be obtained through military 
installations. 

 
Resources: 
ACIP vaccine recommendations: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/index.html 
ACIP schedules https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/index.html 
CDC General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization: 
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/general-recs/index.html 
Minimum ages and intervals 
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/downloads/appendices/A/age-interval-table.pdf 
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South Carolina Immunization Requirements for Childcare 2025-2026 

The following minimum requirements are necessary for childcare. These requirements will be 

effective as of July 1, 2025. This includes preschool attendance for 4K programs and younger. 

A SC Certificate of Immunization with an expiration date is acceptable to allow for age- 

appropriate completion of vaccination series. No child can attend childcare or preschool for 

more than 30 days past the expiration date of the certificate. 
 

By This Age: Minimum Number of Required Doses: 

 
3 months1 

 
2 Hep B 1 DTaP2 

 
1 Hib3 

 
1 PCV4 

 
1 IPV 

   

5 months 2 Hep B 2 DTaP2 2 Hib3 2 PCV4 2 IPV 
   

7 months 2 Hep B 3 DTaP2 2-3 Hib3 3 PCV4 2 IPV 
   

13 months 2 Hep B 3 DTaP2 2-3 Hib3 3 PCV4 2 IPV 
   

16 months 2 Hep B 3 DTaP2 3 Hib3 4 PCV4 2 IPV 1 MMR 1 VAR 
 

19 months 3 Hep B 4 DTaP2 3-4 Hib3 4 PCV4 3 IPV 1 MMR 1 VAR 1 Hep A5 

2 years 3 Hep B 4 DTaP2 3-4 Hib3 4 PCV4 3 IPV 1 MMR 1 VAR 2 Hep A5 

4 years 
(childcare and/or 4-K) 3 Hep B 4 DTaP2 3-4 Hib3 4 PCV4 3 IPV 1 MMR 1 VAR 2 Hep A5 

 
Please note: Children enrolled in grade 5K or greater and enrolled in a childcare facility (e.g., 

after-school and/or summer program) must meet school immunization requirements and have a 

valid SC Certificate of Immunization on file at the childcare and school facility. 

Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, “…no owner or operator of a 

public or private childcare facility as defined in Section 63-13-20 may…enroll or retain a child or 

person who cannot produce satisfactory evidence of having been vaccinated or immunized so 

often as directed by the Department of Health and Environmental Control. Records of 

vaccinations or immunizations must be maintained by the institution, school, or day care facility 

to which the child or person has been admitted.” 

 

1 Minimum immunization requirement for childcare entry for all infants under 3 months of age. 
2 Any combination of DTP, DT, or DTaP vaccine. 
3 Haemophilus influenzae type b (HiB) 3 Dose Series (PedvaxHIB) – One dose by 3 months; second dose by 5 
months and third dose by 16 months of age; OR, 4 Dose Series (ActHIB, Hiberix, Vaxelis,or Pentacel) – One dose by 
3 months; second dose by 5 months; third dose by 7 months and fourth dose by 16 months of age (ActHIB, Hiberix, 
Vaxelis); Pentacel fourth dose by 19 months of age. For children 15 – 59 months of age who have not yet 
completed an age-appropriate Hib vaccination series, one (1) dose of Hib vaccine at or after 15 months of age is 
required. Hib vaccine is not required for children 5 years of age and older. 
4 Pneumococcal conjugate (PCV) – For children aged 24 – 59 months who have not yet completed any age- 
appropriate pneumococcal vaccination, one (1) dose of PCV on or after the 2nd birthday is required. PCV is not 
required for children 5 years of age and older. 
5 Hepatitis A (Hep A) – One dose must be administered no later than 18 months of age. 



South Carolina Immunization Requirements for School 2025-2026 

The following minimum immunization requirements are necessary for a child to be admitted to any public, 
private, or parochial school, grades 5K-12: 

Vaccine Grade Grade Level Requirement 

 

 
Diphtheria, 
Tetanus 
andPertussis 

 
 
 

5K – 12 

 
Four (4) doses of any combination of DTP,DT,DTaP, Td, or Tdap vaccine with at 
least one (1) dose received on or after the fourth birthday. Refer to the currently 
published ACIP Catch Up Schedule for guidance on recommendations for students 
who are behind. For children 7 years of age and older following a catch-up 
schedule, three (3) doses may be acceptable. 

 

 
Tdap 
Booster 

 

 
7 – 12 

 
One (1) dose of Tdap vaccine. This dose of Tdap may be included as one of the 

doses needed to meet the requirement for Diphtheria, Tetanus and Pertussis. 
The vaccine must be given on or after the child’s 10th birthday. 

 
Polio 

 
5K – 12 

Three(3) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine with at leastone (1) dose 
received on or after the fourth birthday. 

Measles, 
Mumpsand 
Rubella 

 
5K – 12 Two(2) doses of MMR vaccine with both doses received on or after the first 

birthday and separated by at least four (4) weeks. 

 
Hepatitis A 

 
5K – 5 

 
Two (2) doses of Hepatitis A vaccine with both doses received on or after the first 
birthday and separated by at least six(6)months. 

 

 
Hepatitis B 

 

 
5K – 12 

 
Three(3) doses of hepatitis B vaccine, with the third dose received >24weeks of 
age and at least 16 weeks after the first dose. 

 

 
Varicella 

5K – 11 
Two (2) doses of varicella vaccine with both doses received on or after the first 
birthday and separated by at least four (4) weeks or a positive history of the disease. 

12 
One (1) dose of varicella vaccine received on or after the first birthday or positive 
history of disease. 

 

 
Please note: 

• For students that are 19 years of age and older follow the adult immunization schedule for compliance. 

• Any references to dose intervals in the above chart are highlights from ACIP guidance and should not be 
substituted for the detailed guidance outlined in ACIP’s Recommended Child and Adolescent  
Immunization Schedule 

• Children enrolled in 4K programs and younger must meet Childcare Requirements, even if 
attendance is in a school setting. 

• Children enrolled in 5K through Grade 12 must meet School Requirements. 
 

 
Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, and South Carolina Regulation 61-8, “no 
superintendent of an institution of learning, no school board or principal of a school…may…enroll or 
retain a child or person who cannot produce satisfactory evidence of having been vaccinated or 
immunized so often as directed by the Department of Health and Environmental Control…. Records of 
vaccinations or immunizations must be maintained by theinstitution, school, or daycare facility to which 
the child or person has been admitted.” 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/downloads/child/0-18yrs-child-combined-schedule.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/downloads/child/0-18yrs-child-combined-schedule.pdf

