
APPLICATION FOR LIMITED CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES REGISTRATION 
DENTAL RESIDENT 

PART I - CERTIFICATION BY APPLICANT 
 

I,  , certify that I am a licensed dentist in the State of 
 , and currently possess a valid and current license to practice Dentistry in that State, having 
been assigned registry number   by the licensing board of that State. I further certify that I am a bona 
fide full-time resident in a General Practice Residency Program in the Department of Dental Education, Prisma 
Health Richland. 

 
Signature of Applicant 

Sworn to and subscribed before 

me this  day of   
 
at  , S. C. 

 
Notary Public for South Carolina 
My Commission expires:   

PART II - CERTIFICATION OF RESIDENCY 

This is to certify that   is a resident in a General Practice Residency 
Program in the Department of Dental Education, Prisma Health Richland, and that such program has been approved 
by the Council on Dental Education of the American Dental Association. 
 
The resident is enrolled as a full-time resident as of  , 20 . 

The anticipated program completion date is  , 20  . 
 

 
Dean, Director of Medical Education 

 , 20  Department of Dental Education 
Prisma Health Richland 

 

 
PART III - APPROVAL BY THE SOUTH CAROLINA STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

This is to certify that the South Carolina State Board of Dentistry has this date approved 
  as an applicant for temporary registration under the provisions of 
the South Carolina Controlled Substances Act for dispensing privileges relating to use of controlled substances 
within the General Practice Residency Program conducted by the Department of Dental Education, Palmetto 
Richland Memorial Hospital. 

 
 

 
 , 20  

Administrator 
South Carolina State Board of Dentistry 
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PART IV - APPLICATION FOR LIMITED REGISTRATION UNDER 
SOUTH CAROLINA CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES ACT 

(Please Print or Type All Entries) 
 
1. Name of Applicant and Address of Location to be Registered: 

 

 

 

 
2. Drug Schedules: (Check All Applicable) 
 
 

SCHEDULE II SCHEDULE III SCHEDULE IV SCHEDULE V 

 Narcotic  Narcotic  All  All 

 Non-Narcotic  Non-Narcotic   

 
 
3. ALL APPLICANTS MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING: 

A. Has the applicant been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in this State or any other State or 
under any Federal offense pertaining to drugs constituting what are now defined as controlled 
substances?   If yes, attach a letter listing such conviction and the disposition of the 
case. 

 
B. Has the applicant every surrendered any professional license, Narcotic Tax Stamp or other 

instrument allowing the applicant to handle drugs?  If yes, attach a letter of explanation, 
including dates and circumstances. 

 
C. Has any previous license, registration, or permit held by the applicant been revoked, suspended, 

denied or is it pending such action?   If yes, attach a letter setting forth the 
circumstances of such action. 

WARNING:  S.C. Code Ann. § 44-53-390(a)(4) states that any person knowingly or intentionally furnishing 
false or fraudulent material information or omitting any material information from any application 
required to be filed by the Act is subject to imprisonment for not more than 5 years or a fine of not 
more than $10,000 or both, except that if such person is a corporation, the fine shall not be more 
than $100,000. 

 
4. REGISTRATION CONDITIONS 
 
PREAMBLE:  The regulation of Controlled Substances as provided for by S.C. Code Ann. §§ 44-53-110, et seq., 

represents an urgent public interest. If the law is to be properly enforced and inspection made 
effective, inspections without warrant must be deemed reasonable official conduct. The Registrant 
has chosen to engage in a pervasively regulated business, with the knowledge that his business 
records, supplies and inventories of controlled substances will be subject to investigation. 
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CONDITIONS: 

A. Registrant's business premises shall be subject to inspection without a warrant by authorized Drug
Inspectors during normal business hours for the reasons contained in S.C. Code Ann. §
44-53-500(b)(4), such inspection to encompass the conduct of accountability audits of
supply and inventory of controlled substances, if necessary.

B. Registration of dental registrants holding a license to practice dentistry in a State other than the
State of South Carolina shall be on a limited basis as follows:

(1) Such registration shall be valid only for the length of time that the registrant is enrolled in
the approved training program for which this limited registration is granted.

(2) Such registration shall confer the privilege for legitimate dental use only of controlled
substances within the environs of Prisma Health Richland Hospital, its pharmacies,
hospitals and clinics and shall not confer the privilege to dispense or prescribe
controlled substances outside of those environs.

(3) Such registration shall expire on the first day of April of the year following the original
registration.

(4) That the Registrant (Applicant) shall notify the Bureau of Drug Control, SCDHEC, 2600
Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, not less than 30 days prior to the completion of the
residency program for which the limited registration is granted, of such impending
completion and shall proceed to terminate such registration in an orderly and lawful
manner: and,

(5) That upon the applicant's licensure by the South Carolina State Board of Dentistry during
the period of limited registration, the applicant-registrant may, upon proper showing
made to the Department of Health and Environmental Control, move to change such
limited registration to permanent registration without prejudice.

C. Registration Fee: $125 annually.

Signature of Applicant: Date: 

MAIL WITH FEE TO: SC Department of Public Health 
Bureau of Drug Control 
400 Otarre Parkway
Cayce, SC 29033

KichukNA
Highlight


	PART I - CERTIFICATION BY APPLICANT
	PART II - CERTIFICATION OF RESIDENCY
	PART III - APPROVAL BY THE SOUTH CAROLINA STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY
	PART IV - APPLICATION FOR LIMITED REGISTRATION UNDER SOUTH CAROLINA CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES ACT

