

March 12, 2025

To Whom It May Concern:

Each year the South Carolina Department of Public Health (DPH) provides the South Carolina Immunization Requirements for Childcare and School. This communication provides the school and childcare entry requirements for immunizations for the 2025-2026 school year. Included are general guidance and specific requirements for childcare and school attendance.

Childcare and school immunization requirements are minimum requirements. Several other vaccines are recommended to protect all children against diseases. Although they may not be required for childcare or school entry, DPH recommends all age-appropriate vaccines for children.

### Changes for the 2025 - 2026 School Year:

 $7^{th} - 12^{th}$  grade: one (1) dose of Tdap vaccine on or after the  $10^{th}$  birthday.

11<sup>th</sup> grade: two (2) doses of varicella. A child with a positive history of the disease is considered immune and is exempt from this requirement.

5<sup>th</sup> grade: two (2) doses of hepatitis A vaccine with both doses received on or after the first birthday and separated by at least 6 months.

The current Immunization Certificate is DPH form 4024. Children with valid DHEC 2740 certificates do not need an updated DPH 4024 certificate if the DHEC 2740 was (1) issued on or before June 30, 2022, and (2) no further immunizations are needed through 12<sup>th</sup> grade.

Doses documented on the SC Certificate of Immunization must be valid according to accepted practice standards. DPH supports the provision of all recommended vaccines in accordance with the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), and CDC General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization.

We appreciate your continuing efforts to protect South Carolina children from vaccinepreventable diseases. Any questions may be directed to DPH's Immunization Division at 800-277-4687 or <u>immunize@dph.sc.gov.</u>

Sincerely,

Sherell Stevens, MBA, MPA Director Immunizations Operations Section

## **General Guidance for South Carolina Immunization Requirements**

A valid South Carolina Certificate of Immunization for all enrolled children, 3 months of age and older, must be maintained by public and private childcare facilities (as defined in SC Code of Laws Section 63-13-20); public, private, and parochial schools, grades kindergarten through 12<sup>th</sup> grade; and child development programs under the control of the Department of Education.

<u>South Carolina state law</u> requires a valid SC Certificate of Immunization or valid exemption. Children without a valid certificate or exemption will not be allowed to attend childcare and/or school. Failure to comply with this law may result in audits and/or legal action.

Doses documented on the immunization certificate must be valid doses according to accepted practice standards for the <u>minimum age(s) and intervals</u>, as well as all <u>ACIP vaccine</u> <u>specific recommendations</u> and <u>CDC General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization</u>.

For unvaccinated or incompletely vaccinated children, refer to the currently published ACIP Catch-Up Schedule for the number of doses necessary to complete the vaccine series and meet the requirement.

#### Exemptions

Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, and South Carolina Regulation 61-8, students may be exempt from these immunization requirements for the following reasons:

**Medical Exemption:** The Medical Exemption section of the SC Certificate of Immunization should only be completed when a child has a permanent or temporary medical reason for exclusion from receipt of vaccine(s). The Medical Exemption section must be completed by a licensed Physician (MD or DO) or their authorized representative (e.g. Physician's Assistant or Advanced Practice Registered Nurse). For temporary medical exemptions, an expiration date in the future should be documented when next immunizations are due.

**Religious Exemption:** A religious exemption may be granted to any student whose parent, guardian, or person in loco parentis signs the appropriate section of the South Carolina Certificate of Religious Exemption stating that one or more immunizations conflicts with their religious beliefs. The South Carolina Certificate of Religious Exemption can only be obtained from a DHEC health department. The parent or guardian must sign the exemption form in the presence of a notary. This exemption may require renewal.

**Special Exemption:** A SC Certificate of Special Exemption may be issued by the school to a student that has been unable to secure immunizations or documentation of immunizations already received. This exemption is only valid for 30 calendar days for the current enrollment and may be issued only once.

### Military Forms: DD-2766 or P-0630 with DHEC 4375

A Military Certification of South Carolina School and Childcare Requirements form (DHEC 4375) completed and signed by a military provider and stapled to the military form DD-2766 or P-0630 can be accepted in lieu of the DHEC 4024. This is only applicable to children of military personnel. The DHEC 4375 can only be obtained through military installations.

### **Resources:**

ACIP vaccine recommendations: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/index.html ACIP schedules https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/index.html CDC General Best Practice Guidelines for Immunization: https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/general-recs/index.html Minimum ages and intervals https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/downloads/appendices/A/age-interval-table.pdf

# South Carolina Immunization Requirements for Childcare 2025-2026

The following minimum requirements are necessary for childcare. These requirements will be effective as of July 1, 2025. This includes preschool attendance for 4K programs and younger. A SC Certificate of Immunization with an expiration date is acceptable to allow for age-appropriate completion of vaccination series. No child can attend childcare or preschool for more than 30 days past the expiration date of the certificate.

By This Age:	Minimum Number of Required Doses:							
3 months <sup>1</sup>	2 Hep B	1 DTaP <sup>2</sup>	1 Hib <sup>3</sup>	1 PCV <sup>4</sup>	1 IPV			
5 months	2 Hep B	2 DTaP <sup>2</sup>	2 Hib <sup>3</sup>	2 PCV <sup>4</sup>	2 IPV			
7 months	2 Hep B	3 DTaP <sup>2</sup>	2-3 Hib <sup>3</sup>	3 PCV <sup>4</sup>	2 IPV			
13 months	2 Hep B	3 DTaP <sup>2</sup>	2-3 Hib <sup>3</sup>	3 PCV <sup>4</sup>	2 IPV			
16 months	2 Hep B	3 DTaP <sup>2</sup>	3 Hib <sup>3</sup>	4 PCV <sup>4</sup>	2 IPV	1 MMR	1 VAR	
19 months	3 Hep B	4 DTaP <sup>2</sup>	3-4 Hib <sup>3</sup>	4 PCV <sup>4</sup>	3 IPV	1 MMR	1 VAR	1 Hep A⁵
2 years	3 Hep B	4 DTaP <sup>2</sup>	3-4 Hib <sup>3</sup>	4 PCV <sup>4</sup>	3 IPV	1 MMR	1 VAR	2 Hep A <sup>5</sup>
4 years (childcare and/or 4-K)	3 Hep B	4 DTaP <sup>2</sup>	3-4 Hib <sup>3</sup>	4 PCV <sup>4</sup>	3 IPV	1 MMR	1 VAR	2 Hep A⁵

**Please note:** Children enrolled in grade 5K or greater and enrolled in a childcare facility (e.g., after-school and/or summer program) must meet school immunization requirements and have a valid SC Certificate of Immunization on file at the childcare and school facility.

Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, "...no owner or operator of a public or private childcare facility as defined in Section 63-13-20 may...enroll or retain a child or person who cannot produce satisfactory evidence of having been vaccinated or immunized so often as directed by the Department of Health and Environmental Control. Records of vaccinations or immunizations must be maintained by the institution, school, or day care facility to which the child or person has been admitted."

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Minimum immunization requirement for childcare entry for all infants under 3 months of age.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Any combination of **DTP**, **DT**, or **DTaP** vaccine.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Haemophilus influenzae type b (HiB) 3 Dose Series (*PedvaxHIB*) – One dose by 3 months; second dose by 5 months and third dose by 16 months of age; OR, 4 Dose Series (*ActHIB, Hiberix, Vaxelis,or Pentacel*) – One dose by 3 months; second dose by 5 months; third dose by 7 months and fourth dose by 16 months of age (ActHIB, Hiberix, Vaxelis); *Pentacel* fourth dose by 19 months of age. For children 15 – 59 months of age who have not yet completed an age-appropriate Hib vaccination series, one (1) dose of Hib vaccine at or after 15 months of age is required. Hib vaccine is not required for children 5 years of age and older.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> **Pneumococcal conjugate (PCV)** – For children aged 24 – 59 months who have not yet completed any ageappropriate pneumococcal vaccination, one (1) dose of PCV on or after the 2<sup>nd</sup> birthday is required. PCV is not required for children 5 years of age and older.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> *Hepatitis A (Hep A)* – One dose must be administered no later than 18 months of age.

# South Carolina Immunization Requirements for School 2025-2026

The following minimum immunization requirements are necessary for a child to be admitted to any public, private, or parochial school, grades 5K-12:

Vaccine	Grade	Grade Level Requirement			
Diphtheria, Tetanus andPertussis	5K – 12	Four (4) doses of any combination of DTP,DT,DTaP, Td, or Tdap vaccine with at least one (1) dose received on or after the fourth birthday. Refer to the currently published ACIP Catch Up Schedule for guidance on recommendations for students who are behind. For children 7 years of age and older following a catch-up schedule, three (3) doses may be acceptable.			
Tdap Booster	7 – 12	One (1) dose of Tdap vaccine. This dose of Tdap may be included as one of the doses needed to meet the requirement for Diphtheria, Tetanus and Pertussis. The vaccine must be given on or after the child's 10 <sup>th</sup> birthday.			
Polio	5K – 12	Three (3) doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine with at least one (1) dose received on or after the fourth birthday.			
Measles, Mumpsand Rubella	5K-12	Two (2) doses of MMR vaccine with both doses received on or after the first birthday and separated by at least four (4) weeks.			
Hepatitis A	5K – 5	Two (2) doses of Hepatitis A vaccine with both doses received on or after the first birthday and separated by at least six(6)months.			
Hepatitis B	5K-12	Three (3) doses of hepatitis B vaccine, with the third dose received <u>&gt;</u> 24weeks of age and at least 16 weeks after the first dose.			
	5K – 11	Two (2) doses of varicella vaccine with both doses received on or after the first birthday and separated by at least four (4) weeks or a positive history of the disease.			
Varicella	12	One (1) dose of varicella vaccine received on or after the first birthday or positive history of disease.			

#### Please note:

- For students that are 19 years of age and older follow the adult immunization schedule for compliance.
- Any references to dose intervals in the above chart are highlights from ACIP guidance and should <u>not</u> be substituted for the detailed guidance outlined in <u>ACIP's Recommended Child and Adolescent</u> <u>Immunization Schedule</u>
- Children enrolled in 4K programs and younger must meet Childcare Requirements, even if attendance is in a school setting.
- Children enrolled in 5K through Grade 12 must meet School Requirements.

Pursuant to Section 44-29-180, South Carolina Code of Laws, and South Carolina Regulation 61-8, "no superintendent of an institution of learning, no school board or principal of a school...may...enroll or retain a child or person who cannot produce satisfactory evidence of having been vaccinated or immunized so often as directed by the Department of Health and Environmental Control.... Records of vaccinations or immunizations must be maintained by theinstitution, school, or daycare facility to which the child or person has been admitted."